November 21, 2019

England vs Australia Head to Head: ICC World Cup 2019

The second semifinal of the 12th ICC World Cup will be played today (Thursday, July 11) at 2:30 p.m. between England host and defending champion Australia.

Previously, Australia lifted the coveted trophy in five editions of the mega tournament, while England never became the world champion despite playing the final three times.

Today, England is playing the semifinal for the sixth time. Previously, they had won three of their five semifinals, in 1979, 1987 and 1992, but could not win the title and became runners-up. In addition, they reached the semifinal twice more, in 1975 and 1983, but could not qualify for the final.

Australia plays its eighth semifinal today. They never lost any of their previous seven semifinals and won the title five times: first in 1987 and then three times in a row (1999, 2003 and 2007 and then in 2015. However, they lost the final twice) – in 1975 and 1996, since they were hit by the West Indies and Sri Lanka, respectively.

ODI Registry:

Australia and England had the honor of playing the first international match of a day, held in 1971. Since then, Australia has played 941 games, the second most in any country. They won 573 and lost 325 games, while nine were tied and 34 had no results. Its success rate is 63.67.

England has so far played 741 international matches a day, winning 373 and losing 333 with eight tied games and 27 NR. Its success rate is 52.80.

Both have played together 148 games. Australia won 82 and England won 61 since two matches were tied and three had no results.

World Cup record:

Australia has played 93 games since 1975, winning 69 and losing 22 with a tied game and one of NR. Its success rate is 75.54.

England has played 81 games since 1975. Won 47 and lost 32 with a tied game and one of NR. The success rate is 59.37.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *